What is a bioregion?

Bioregions are defined as ‘assemblages of flora, fauna and the supporting geophysical environment contained within distinct but dynamic spatial boundaries’. They can be terrestrial, coastal and marine.

The boundaries of each bioregion are determined by the geophysical environment, major features and organisms that influence, and occur in, the region.

Identifying and understanding the boundaries and functioning of bioregions are essential for ecological management.

Victoria’s marine environment has been classified into five bioregions according to a nationally agreed scheme based on physical and biological attributes.

These five bioregions include: Otway Bioregion; Central Victoria Bioregion; Flinders Bioregion; Twofold Shelf Bioregion; and Victorian Bays and Inlets.